Academic Council

The ISU Academic Council is responsible for ensuring the academic quality of the teaching and research activities of ISU. The Council has created a set of policies and standards for the faculty within the overall guidelines established by the Board of Trustees and in cooperation with the President of the University. The role, rules, and processes of the Academic Council are provided in Appendix A of the ISU Academic Handbook, which can be downloaded here.

To ensure integration of policies between the Academic Advisory Committee of the BOT and the Executive Officers of ISU, the AAC Chair as well as the President of ISU and the Academic Officers (the Dean, Associate Dean and the Program Directors) are permanent invitees to the Academic Council. The Academic Council is represented on the Board of Trustees and the BOT Academic Advisory Committee. The current members of the Academic Council are listed below.


Carol Carnett (USA), Chair of the Academic Council, Legal Aid Bureau Inc., USA
Angie Bukley (USA), Co-Chair of the Academic Council, The Aerospace Corporation, USA

Eric Dahlstrom (USA), International Space Consultants, New Zealand
Volker Damann (Germany), International Space University, France
Gary Martin (USA), Senior Advisor, Ministry of the Economy, Luxembourg
Maria Antonietta Perino (Italy), Thales Alenia Space, Italy
Lucy Stojak (Canada), HEC Montréal, Canada
Su-Yin Tan (Canada), University of Waterloo, Canada
Olga Zhdanovich (Russia), MODIS, Netherlands



ISU Academic Handbook v3.1 - Download Here