ISU Academic Council Composition Announced

President Walter Peeters has the pleasure to announce that the ISU Faculty members have elected Jean-Jacques Favier & Adil Jafry to serve on the ISU Academic Council, at the same time prolonging Juan de Dalmau and Vasilis Zervos for a 2nd mandate.

Their three-year mandates commenced on 01 July 2015 and runs through 30 June 2018. Congratulations to all.

He also extends his gratitude to Jeff Hoffman and Nikolay Tolyarenko for their service to the Council and to ISU. Both have provided valuable contributions to move the institution forward and all count on them to continue this dedication.

He would also like to congratulate Su-Yin Tan, elected by the Faculty as new Chair, and Juan De Dalmau, elected as co-chair. The combination of a young space professional as chair supported by a very experienced and excellent previous AC chair is, in his opinion, very powerful.

The composition of the AC is therefore, as per 1 July:

Su-Yin Tan (Chair), SSP03 - Dr. Su-Yin Tan is a Senior Lecturer in the Geomatics Program and Director of the Applied Geomatics Research Laboratory at the University of Waterloo, Canada. Her specialization is in geographic information systems, remote sensing, and spatial data analysis. She was core-chair of SSP15 in Ohio.

Juan De Dalmau (Vice Chair), SSP89 - Head of the Communication Office at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC), the largest establishment of the European Space Agency (ESA). He started at ESA in 1985, and has since held different positions both inside and outside the Agency as a seconded staff member. He also was detached by ESA to ISU as SSP Director.

Ed Chester, SSP02 – Dr. Ed Chester has worked for the largest and smallest space organizations in Europe, in public, private, educational, governmental and operational roles. He has co-founded 6 startup companies, and is currently a director of Catena Space. He has been previously chair of the ISU Academic Council.

Jean-Jacques Favier – Dr. Jean-Jacques Favier was selected as French Astronaut Candidate in 1985, and then selected again by NASA as Payload Specialist in 1992, firstly as backup on the STS 65/IML2 shuttle mission. During the flight he was Crew Interface Coordinator at Control Center. He then flew on STS78/LMS Columbia mission in June/July 1996, logging 17 days in orbit. He is a specialist in material sciences and coordinates ISU’s research efforts as resident ISU faculty.

Adil Jafry, ESC08 & MSS10 - Mr. Jafry is Chairman and CEO of Chandah Space Technologies, a Houston and Mountain View based company focused on commercial space initiatives. Mr. Jafry currently serves as an Entrepreneur In Residence (EIR) at the Houston Technology Center (HTC), named by Forbes as one of “Ten Technology Incubators Changing The World”, and was the former President of TiE Houston.

John Logsdon – Dr. John Logsdon is Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs at George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs. He was the founder in 1987 and long-time Director of GW’s Space Policy Institute. He has also been a faculty member of the International Space University since 1989 and regularly lectured in all ISU programs.

Gary Martin – Mr. Gary Martin is the Director of the New Ventures and Communications Directorate at Ames Research Center.  In this position he oversees new business opportunities for the Center, entrepreneurial partnerships, education, strategic communications, and facilitates the development of the Center’s long-term strategy. He has been detached by NASA to ISU as SSP director. He was TP-Chair at SSP15.

Lucy Stojak – Dr. Lucy Stojak is the Director of the HEC Summer School on Management of Creativity in an Innovation Society. She is a lawyer specialized in space law. Her fields of interest include security and space, the commercialization of space, and intercultural negotiation and team building. She has lectured at several ISU SSP sessions.

Vasilis Zervos – Dr. Vasilis Zervos is an industrial economist employed as associate professor in Economics and Policy at ISU. He holds a BA in Economics MSc in Economics (focus on macroeconomy and the role of the central banks) and a DPhil in the economics of the European space industry (University of York).